The Supplements I Take and Why:

I used to think taking a box of supplements was crazy and I’ll be honest, I sometimes still wonder if they work, but for the past 7 months I’ve prioritized taking supplements to feel and look healthy, happy and nourished. I haven’t gotten sick (except for whatever virus I got in Morocco and that brutal wedding hangover) my digestion is the best it’s ever been, my hair is shiny and strong and my skin is the most consistently clear it’s EVER been. The only thing I wish was better was my muscle and joint recovery since I’m in the midst of marathon training and still dealing with a very stubborn IT band / hip pain. But besides that, everything has worked really well.

I think this goes without saying, but I still have to say it:

Supplements are not meant to replace a healthy diet. They are called supplements for a reason; to enhance and add to your (already healthy) diet. 

You can’t eat fried foods every day and take a bunch of supplements and expect it to counter-act all of the bad crap you’re eating. It doesn’t work that way.

Anyway, here they are:

FullSizeRender 2

Hum Nutrition: An amazing brand that you can purchase online and at Sephora. Their slogan is “Beauty comes from Within”  which is probably why they scored a deal with Sephora and I love that Sephora is promoting that philosophy. Their website provides a questionnaire where you answer diet and lifestyle questions and based on your answers they recommend some of their supplements. I’ve been using their recommendations for 7 months! Plus, they have a  cool subscription program that gives you a discount on your supplements every month so it makes it pretty affordable, as far as supplements go.

If you want to try HUM use my code for $10 OFF your first order: 11CA2D

  • Daily Cleanse: I take this amazing blend of spiraling, chlorella, dandelion root, beet root and more first thing in the morning. It helps aid the body’s detoxifying process after a long night of detoxification.
  • Gut Instinct: A 10-strain probiotic when most probiotics contain 2-3. It’s good to have different strands so your body never becomes immune to the couple of strains that you take. I tell everyone I know to take a probiotic. Ever since I started taking probiotics, my digestion improved dramatically. Probiotics are good for more than just digestion because probiotics are filled with healthy bacteria that help replace the bad bacteria in your gut, so it affects the immune system too.
  • Base Control: Pretty self explanatory. A Multi-Vitamin!
  • Air Patrol: I got this one a few months ago because I found myself thinking in a “dooms day” sort of way and that our environment is royally effed and the pollution is just unimaginable and heyyy I live in New York freakin’ City so… ah, you see? Dooms day.  I decided to try to do my best to detox from environmental pollutants and this is one of the ways I’m doing that. It has a high amount of Vitamin C and Bioflavonoids which helps the body absorb the vitamin C that is killed off due to air pollution and smoke.

Renewlife Digestive Enzyme: I got these when I traveled abroad earlier this year as a precaution. Digestive enzymes take stress off your digestive system by helping it break down foods that are difficult to digest such as gluten and dairy. That’s what I use it for anyway. Anytime I go out to eat I bring an enzyme with me just in case.

Fish Oil : I started taking this because I read in a running book that it may further reduce muscle inflammation when you’re dealing with an injury and/or marathon training. Since I’m experiencing both, here I am taking fish oil!

L-Glutamine : I started taking this because I heard it was good for building muscle, recovery and increased endurance (do you see a trend here?) and then I found out it’s great for your digestive system so, even better! Come to find out it is an essential amino acid that helps the intestines rebuild as well as helping with balancing the mucus in our bowels which leads to better digestion. I’ve only been taking it for a couple of weeks so I haven’t felt the full benefits yet (you should allow at least 30 consistent days for your body to adjust to the supplements) but I’m hoping it’ll be helpful during marathon training.

And these guys:

FullSizeRender 3

Amazing Grass Green Superfood Powder: I love this stuff because it tastes good when you simply mix it with water and that’s a rare find with this sort of product. It claims to have the equivalent of 3 servings of greens, probiotics and digestive enzymes in one scoop. When I’m in a rush and don’t have time to make a smoothie or make myself a salad, this is a life saver.

Collagen Peptides: Yea, I know, I know. Collagen is sooooo in right now and I definitely jumped on the bandwagon. But once I tried it, I experienced the benefits and don’t really want to stop. I’ve tried two brands, this one and Vital Proteins. I’ll be honest, I bought this brand on AmazonPrime day because it was super discounted, sorry to say the price has gone back up, but I honestly think it is worth it especially if you’re an athlete and/or work on your feet/work out a lot. This collagen is made out of grass-fed pasture-raised cows and has protein plus all the benefits of collagen(obviously); healthy joints, muscles, gut lining, hair, skin and nails. See, it’s so much more than just a beauty supplement.

Vega Protein & Greens Protein Powder: It sounds gross, I know, but this stuff is delicious. Seriously. It’s got 20g of plant based protein, plus 2 servings of greens and only 1g of sugar. I tend to forget to have enough protein (especially in the summer, I just love my fruits and veggies you know?), so protein powder comes in handy when I’m in a rush or when I want to enhance a smoothie pre or post-run.  I don’t typically use a full scoop in my smoothies because I find that the taste overpowers the fresh veggies and fruits (and I like to taste ’em) so I use half a scoop which leaves you with the perfect amount of vanilla sweetness. As a pre or post run fuel I’ll keep it simple with a full scoop and mix it with coconut milk and water and that tastes delicious too!

Well there you have it, folks. Supplements! 

Like I said earlier, eat a healthy diet first and foremost. If you can’t afford all of these supplements, or simply don’t want to spend money on them, that doesn’t make you an unhealthy person. These are meant to enhance your already healthy diet and lifestyle. I like to use these supplements because they work for me, but what works for me may not work for you. That’s why it’s fun to experiment! I may use these supplements now, but in another year… who knows?

Happy experimenting!

Leave a Reply

